2011 New Year’s Resolutions

It’s that time of year again when we start to think about changing our miserable little lives for the better – so here’s mine for starters…

Work less, get paid more

Sounds obvious but I realised that last year I gave an awful lot of my time and expertise away for free. There were far too many meetings which led to nothing. Lots of being an iPhone app expert and explaining the ins and outs of the app world and developing a strategies for a products that never happened. This year I’m going to qualify meetings more thoroughly, run more paid for workshops and if I find I’m working on something for free, I’m going to make bloody that at least I’m enjoying myself!

Enjoy myself more

Similar to the above. Rather than accept anything that comes along I’m going to actively seek out the sort of work I enjoy doing the most. More proactive, less reactive. What harm can it do?

Tidy desk, tidy mind

Both my virtual and real world desktops have been cleared and it feels great. I’ll make sure that at the end of the day everything is as tidy as at the beginning. Less clutter really does lead to a more productive and stress free working environment. Even if you have to cheat a bit to do it (I’ve created a folder called ‘Stuff’ and dumped all the misc. crap that was cluttering up my desktop into it) you’ll feel much better for it.

Inbox Zero

I get too much email. It’s that simple – I could quite easily spend all morning replying to and filing emails. So I’ve just moved over 3,000 messages from my inbox into an archived folder and I’m going to try and forget all about them and concentrate on keeping my nice empty inbox that way for as long as possible. I’m using smart folders to filter out all the newsletters and sales crap and I’ll check those as and when I get the chance (probably never). Anything that’s important will get dealt with right away or flagged and filed – another smart folder filters out all the flagged messages and acts as a sort of To Do list.

Healthy body, healthy mind

I’m going to drag myself away from the computer occasionally. OK, I doubt that I’ll go as far as joining the gym but I’ll go out for more walks and eat slightly less crap food.

Right that’s enough to get me started and motivated – I’ll check back periodically and see how I’m getting on…

  1. Balance creates focus. One of my failings is that I am often not in the present but I know from experience that when I focus, I achieve so much more in a quicker amount of time.

    In terms of a couple of your resolutions, I highly recommend a lunchtime walk. Really good to clear the head. It’s like a holiday. You don’t realise you need the break until you’ve had it. You’ll be much more productive.

    Highly recommend the book “How Lance Does It”. I’ll get my copy to you next time I see you.

  2. Thanks Craig. I’m hoping that the process of blogging will also help me focus a bit – I often feel like I sit in front of the computer all day and accomplish absolutely nothing…

    The daily walk is a good idea – I’ll see how long I can keep it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

