Why I love my HTC Desire Android phone…

Whilst my friend (we really have known each other for more decades than I really want to think about), Dave Hornsby exemplifies consumer intransigence at it’s worst, I simply choose not too. And I’m not an Apple basher; I’m an Apple iPhone rejecter.

I use a MacBook Pro and listen to an iPod Classic; I want the old Apple TV with the hard drive but not the new one. The only thing stopping me from spending £2000+ for the top of the range MacBook Pro is that I don’t have the funds. Nothing else. Not even the fact that I could buy four 17inch Dell laptops for the same price.

I have not owned an iPhone but I have had my hands on both, the first and the latest. I thought the first iPhone was a design masterpiece, bold and heading out where Apple head best, left of field, which Apple then make popular and user friendly. I understood the iPhone 4 though, its need to look like a blinged up Nokia, all in an effort to appeal to the corporate set. A no-brainer really and that’s exactly what I think of the iPhone 4, a cosmetic no-brainer. For those who have forgotten Apple’s early ad campaign, which asked us only to: Think.

The iPhone 4, I would argue, asks us just to accept and keep paying out, as a revenue stream for Apple’s advancement and not ours.

Rewinding a bit first. I noticed the Google OS when it first arrived and I’m not the sort of person to put all my eggs in one basket. And it was a clear-cut choice between the first Apple iPhone and the first Android phone, HTC’s G1. It was no contest and the quirky and imaginative G1 never left my side for 18 months, only replaced by the unbeatable Android HTC Desire.

Build quality

Certainly less fragile than the iPhone it survives in my jean pockets without any worries – and without an overly protective case or a rubber band wrapped around it. The back of the HTC Desire is hardwearing and grip responsive plastic, which is very capable of taking knocks and not marking. The front of the Desire’s screen is surrounded by light and durable metal. The screen is larger than the iPhone’s and is an AMOLED display (Active Matrix Organic light Emitting diode).

Integration

Google mail is a joy to use, fast and responsive, as is Google calendar. No sync problems at all. You can choose whether you want your phone contacts to just be on the phone or to be synced with your Gmail contacts. This is a feature, I feel, which is greatly undersold. It’s basically saying, you will never loose your phone contacts, again, ever, if you choose to sync those contacts with your Gmail account. Loose your Android phone, break it even, no problem, your contacts are safe and waiting for you to log into another Android phone and sync with it. Photos can by synced too.

A small point here, all this syncing across platforms costs nothing with an Android phone. Okay, one more time, ANDROID SYNCING COSTS NOTHING. Now Apple will charge you £60 a year for the exactly the same service. Which doesn’t sound much, except for me that’s 12 bottles of wine (I’m a cheap date……so long as you buy me all 12 bottles), 16.6 bags of Hershey’s Kisses or 2.1 bottles of Lanson Black Label champagne. Well, you get the picture.

Facebook contacts are synced with your Google contacts effortlessly. It really is a breeze.

iTunes

Love it, that’s why I have an iPod. I’m a heavy film viewer too and I really need all my films with me all the time. But I don’t want them on my phone. Apple seem to be putting so much through iTunes I’m beginning to wonder if the programme can actually cope and how far away is from becoming clunkly and Jack of all trades, but master of none. Not that that is a problem for my HTC Desire. And yes, I do like carrying two devices around with me. One is excellent at sound and vision and the other is like carry a mini laptop around with me that has an interesting sideline in calls and texting.

Battery life

No problem here, just charge it once a day and you’re good to go. Should you want to conserve battery life there are options, App Killer is a good download because Android phones multi-tasked form the word go, unlike the iPhone 4, which, even now, only fakes multi tasking. The other option is just to turn Internet access off, which can be done on the fly.

App Store

Or Android Market, as Apple is keen to trademark here, there and everywhere. I mean who does Apple think it is? Steve Ballmer? iPhone users tend to bang on about the iPhone app store like it was something unique and Apple have the best one. Rubbish, of course. But there’s that consumer intransigence or blindness again, take your pick.

Android apps can either be downloaded directly to the handset or you can browse https://market.android.com, pick an app and it will download automatically.

And while we are on the subject of apps, the iPhone 4 doesn’t have that particular market all to itself, as much as it might like to think it does. I’ve heard people say well Apple have brought all the best apps so might as well buy an iPhone. Simply, not true.

Here a few of the apps on my HTC Desire, spread over five scrolling screens and spaced out rather than cramped in: Sky Remote Record, FaceBook, Twitter, Google Talk, Amazon Kindle, Amazon UK, Amazon MP3, eBay, BBC iPlayer, Dropbox (which this article was synced with), Yahoo Messenger, Documents To Go (which this article was edited on), Evernote, Gmail, Google Navigation (free), WiF Finder, WiFi Hotspot (turns the HTC Desire into its own wi fi hotspot). A few of the many; there are thousands more.

iPhone 4 users are starting to sound a bit like Microsoft Windows users, who say they cannot possibly change to a Mac because Mac’s don’t run all the programs that Windows do. Right!

Accessories

Get a life. That’s what I have an iPod for!

Conclusion

Let the HTC Desire speak for itself.

Swappable 32GB mircoSD cards, something the iPhone doesn’t have. A display of 3.7 inches compared to the iPhone’s 3.5. An optical track pad.

Winner of T3’s smartphone of the year 2010. No cost syncing across platforms. No upfront cost for the phone, free on all contracts, unlike the iPhone. The HTC Desire will play Flash in its web browser. 1GHz CPU. Strong and useful integration with Google and FaceBook

Secure lock on the phone by unique pattern gesture. Five screens to place apps on; I actually keep the first screen clear of all apps. It looks better that way and I can see my wife and son’s photograph.

All in all, the Android powered HTC Desire is nothing short of sensational.

Oh and the call quality is the best I have ever heard and I’ve been listening to mobilephone reception since 1995.

    • Jason
    • April 11th, 2011

    Syncing costs nothing on the iPhone too. Gmail supports Activesync and I have my gmail setup as an exchange account – easy and FREE

    I charge my iPhone every 2 days and get 6-10 hours solid usage and that’s with wifi on, Bluetooth on (connecting to car 2 hours a day, 5 days a week)

    Oh and Appkiller? What’s that? I don’t need it.

    PS this post should be called “why I hate the iPhone” as more time was spent bashing it than focusing in the benefits of the Desire!

    ;)

  1. As appealing as some of the features of the HTC are (for me integration with social apps, browsing and email are a must when deciding on a new smartphone) I have to agree with Jason that your tone did feel more like an iPhone-bashing one than talking about and praising the HTC’s features.

    • Common Sense
    • June 20th, 2011

    I actually switched from the iPhone to Droid 2 Global for some of these reasons. Also, love it or hate it, native flash support is awesome also.

  2. Just so you know, “App store” is trademarked by Apple. You might want to send Apple a check to use that term on your blog. LOLOLOLOLLLOLl;. Just kidding. Thinking of getting an HTC myself and getting rid of this galaxy S.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

