Pinteresting…

I’m sure most of you have heard of Pinterest by now, but if not don’t worry, you soon will. We’re assured by those in the know that it’s going to be the “next big thing” so you’ll probably soon be sick to death of hearing about it.

So what exactly is Pinterest? At it’s simplest level it allows users to curate themed sets of images. You can add images as you browse the web by “pinning” them to your board and the other users can like individual pictures, or choose to follow your board or you as a user (you can have multiple themed boards…)

I’m not personally that interested in the social of things – I don’t care about how many followers I have because I’m using it for me rather than anybody else…
For me it solves a very simple problem – what do you do with those great pictures you discover when you’re browsing the web? You don’t want to bookmark the whole page, and even if you do you end up with a text description (bookmark) of a visual thing which isn’t ideal. So I used to download individual images I liked and dump them in a folder on my hard disk – also not ideal. Pinterest makes this process a lot easier – just tap the bookmarklet you can install in you menu bar and add a picture to your collection with a couple of clicks…

If you’re interested you can see the sort of stuff I’ve been pinning here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

